Skip to main content
site header image

Databases: Curio.ca

Creating an Account

Recommend using Firefox or Chrome with this database. You will not be able to manage your playlists through Internet Explorer.

Before creating an account, contact Kathy Ellerton, kellerton@ucn.ca, for the access code.

a.  Go to Curio.ca.

b.  on Login

c.  Select 'Enter with an Access Code.

d.  Type in email address and password.

e. Check your email. An activation link will be sent to you by email.

f.  Click on the activation link. You will not see an Welcome (your name), you will see an option called My Curio.

Sharing / Embedding Videos

Click on Share below the video to get the url or embed code for the video. You can also select the size of the video console.

What is Curio.ca?

Curio.ca provides streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, including documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — over 5,000 programs and resources. It is a one-stop destination for outstanding Canadian educational content.

Navigating Curio

Notice that you have multiple ways to find Curio educational content. Using the main menu that always appears at the top of the page, you can navigate Curio by CBC show, by subject category, by collections and by channels.

SHOWS

Here you'll find a full list of the most popular CBC shows — The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight, Dragons' Den, etc.

  • Notice on the left that you can filter shows by categories.
  • Use the menu below the Featured Show to sort the list by alphabetical order, to increase the number of results per page or to change from the default grid view to a list view.
  • Here too the list can be sorted by alphabetical order, as well as by date.
  • Click on a show image or title to see a full list of episodes or stories.

CATEGORIES

  • On each category page, notice on the left that you can jump to another category and, from there, to a sub-category.
  • When you click on one of the main categories, like HEALTH, you’ll see a full list of programs from all of its related sub-categories.
  • As elsewhere, the list of programs can be sorted by alphabetical order or by date.

COLLECTIONS

  • Your Curio Collections page gives you a chance to easily find CBC mini-series (documentary and drama),  thematic bundles we’ve created and individual seasons of certain CBC shows.
  • Notice on the left that you can filter collections by categories.
  • You can also sort the list of collections by alphabetical order or by date.
  • Click on the collection image or title to see a full list of programs or episodes or stories in each.

Getting Started with Curio.ca

Searching Curio

a. You can search by title or subject

b. Use double quotes around a particular phrase to get specific results

c. Can filter results by subject, language, age group, or type

d. Results can be sorted alphabetically or by date

Creating Playlists

You must be signed into an account before you can create a playlist. Once you are logged into Curio.ca you can create a playlist as follows.

1.Click on Add to Playlist on the menu before the video.

The playlist menu opens up. You will see selection boxes of previous playlists or you can create a new playlist.