Elder's Traditional Knowledge: Story-Telling

Title: Brochet, Conversations with Elders
Revised Tape ID: VI8
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-BROCHET-2000####-20211220-B.MP4
Contributor: Chafe, Rick; Inglis, Dorothy
Copyright: Frontier School Division
Copyright Date: 2000
Place Recorded: Brochet, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 20
Language: Cree, English
Subject: Oral history, story-telling, Cree, Brochet, Lac Brochet, Dene, elders, childhood chores, laundry, childhood toys, caring for children, school days in Brochet, rabbit snares, fishing, fish camps, traditional way of life, Hudson's Bay Company Store
Description: Rick and Dorothy interview elders and shows historic pictures of Brochet, Manitoba. Digitized, with permission: Copyrighted 2000 by Frontier School Division.
This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Frontier School Division, Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Brochet, Photographs and Memories
Revised Tape ID: VI7
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-BROCHET-1999####-20211220-A.MP4
Contributor: Umpherville, Tina
Copyright: Frontier School Division
Copyright Date: 1999
Place Recorded: Brochet, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 20
Language: Cree, English
Subject: Oral history, passing down traditions, Cree, Brochet, Lac Brochet, Dene, elders, fish camps, ice fishing, dog teams, caribou, Reindeer Lake, story-telling, traditional way of life, Jack Fish Lake, Hudson's Bay Company post, winter roads, Barren Lands First Nation Band Council,
Description: Narrator interviews elders and shows historic pictures of Brochet, Manitoba. Digitized, with permission: Copyrighted 1999 by Frontier School Division.
This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and storytelling.
Partners: Frontier School Division, Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Elder Marie Ballantyne, Inter Universities North (IUN) Oral Traditions course
Revised Tape ID: VI2
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-BALLANTYNE,MARIE-2003XXXX-20211214.MP4
Contributor: Anderson, Greg; Ballantyne, Marie; Linklater, Marilyn;
Date Recorded: 2003, May 27
Place Recorded: Thompson Manitoba
Original Format: VHS-C Video Tape
Current Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 14
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Indigenous, oral history, Wisakedjak, Cree, story-telling, legends, stories as teachings
Description: Elder Marie Ballantyne is interviewed as part of the Inter Universities North course: Kayas Acanohkiwina, for the Oral Traditions project. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve Indigenous oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Florence Hamilton
Revised Tape ID: A4
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-HAMILTON,FLORENCE-20010405-20211207.MP3
Contributor: Hamilton, Florence; Kematch, April; Thomas, Georgina; Robinson-Ross, Jennifer
Date Recorded: 2001, June 5
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: Audio Cassette
Current Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 7
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, Wisakedjak, Hiawatha, Cree, shaking-tents, story-telling, legends of long ago, Kayas Acanohkiwina, Cross Lake
Description: Elder Florence Hamilton was interviewed as part of the Inter Universities North Course, Kayas Acanohkiwina, Legends of Long Ago. This audio recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Angaangaq Lyberth
Revised Tape ID: A2, A3
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-LYBERTH,ANGAANGAQ-20010518-20211217.MP3
Contributor: Berthelette, Ray; Legge, Sandy; Lyberth, Angaangaq; Spence, Alberteen;
Date Recorded: 2001, May 18
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: Two Audio Cassettes
Digitized Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 17
Language: English
Subject: Oral history, Wisakedjak, Cree, Inuit, Eskimo, story-telling, legends, medicine wheel, sea eagle, eagle prophecy, Greenland
Description: Angaangaq is interviewed as part of the Inter Universities North Course, Kayas Acanohkiwina: Legends of Long Ago. This audio recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Joe Mercredi
Revised Tape ID: A5
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-MERCREDI,JOE-20010516-20211207.MP3
Contributor: Freiling, Brenda; Mercredi, Joe; Sinclair, Gayle
Date Recorded: 2001, May 16
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: Audio Cassette
Current Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 7
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, Cree, story-telling, legends, creation stories, the creation of Wisakedjak, life lessons, four races of humanity, gift exchange, Grand Rapids, The Pas, Nelson House, native history
Description: Joe is interviewed as part of the Inter Universities North Course, Kayas Acanohkiwina: Legends of Long Ago. This audio recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North, (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Joe Mercredi
Revised Tape ID: A6
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-MERCREDI,JOE-20010605-20211207.MP3
Contributor: LaPointe, Christy; Grieves, Cindy; Towers, Stephanie
Date Recorded: 2001, June 5
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: Audio Cassette
Current Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 7
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, Cree, Métis, story-telling, legends, animal stories, beaver, Grand Rapids, Nelson House, The Pas,
Description: Joe is interviewed as part of the Inter Universities North Course, Kayas Acanohkiwina: Legends of Long Ago. This audio recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Interview with Elder, Wellington Spence, IUN Kayas Acanohkiwina course
Revised Tape ID: VI4
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-SPENCE,WELLINGTON-20030518-20211214.MP4
Contributor: Gregoire, Charles; Gabriel, Louie; Spence, Joe; Spence, Wellington
Date Recorded: 2003, May 18
Place Recorded: At Elder Wellington Spence's camp in northern Manitoba
Original Format: VHS-C Video Tape
Current Format: MP3
Date Digitized: 2021, December 14
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Indigenous, oral history, Wisakedjak, Cree, story-telling, legends, stories as teachings, seven laws of life, living off the land, residential school and medicinal herbs
Description: Elder Wellington Spence is interviewed as part of the 2003 Inter Universities North course: Kayas Acanohkiwina, for the Oral Traditions project. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve Indigenous oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Tape #1, Opening Session
Revised Tape ID: VC1
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-PROFEIT-LEBLANC,LOUISE-IUNCENC-20011003-20211206-A.MP4
Contributor: Profeit-Leblanc, Louise
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS-VCR Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 6
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, humour in stories, Indigenous
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Session A
Revised Tape ID: VC1
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-PROFEIT-LEBLANC,LOUISE-[et.al]-IUNCENC-20011003-20211206-B.MP4
Contributor: Dumas, William; Profeit-Leblanc, Louise
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS-VCR Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 6
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, humour in stories, Indigenous
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Session B: Northern Communities and Research
Revised Tape ID: VC3
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-BROWNLEE,KEVIN-[et.al]-IUNCENC-200110XX-20211207-C.MP4
Contributor: Brownlee, Kevin; Tays, Natalie
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 7
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, archeology, anthropology, education, museums, artifacts, community involvement, Indigenous, Nelson House
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Session C: Aboriginal Organizations and Developments in Education
Revised Tape ID: VC4
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-THOMAS,ANDY-[et.al]-IUNCENC-200110XX-20211207-D.MP4
Contributor: Keeper, Lorne; Thomas, Andy: Wastesicoot, Jennie
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 7
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, education, treaties, treaty rights, education as a treaty right, Indian Act, residential schools
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Session D: Traditional Knowledge
Revised Tape ID: VC5
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-PAUPANEKIS,KEN-[et.al]-IUNCENC-200110XX-20211208-E.MP4
Contributor: Hill, Stewart; Paupanekis, Ken
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 8
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, education, family names, anthropology, Cree language, translation, Indigenous
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Tape #6, Session E: Integrating Culture and Curriculum. Note: VC 6 and VC 7 will be combined into one video
Revised Tape ID: VC6
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-DUMAS,MARGARET-[et.al]-IUNCENC-200110XX-20211208-F.MP4
Contributor: Dumas, Margaret; Shore, Dr. Fred
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 8
Language: English
Subject: Oral history, oral tradition, Cree, Metis, storytelling, legends, education, bison hunting, family stories, Indigenous
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling..
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Circle of Education in the North Conference, Tape #8, Session G: Closing remarks: Building Community Through Education
Revised Tape ID: VC8
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-PROFEIT-LEBLANC,LOUISE-[et.al]-IUNCENC-20011004-20211209-G.MP4
Contributor: Dumas, William; Profeit-Leblanc, Louise
Date Recorded: 2001, October 3 & 4
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 9
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Oral history, Indigenous, oral tradition, Cree, story-telling, legends, education, family stories, the importance of telling your story, community, Indigenous
Description: In the closing session of the conference, Louise Profeit-Leblanc leads all the participants in a sharing circle, where everyone is offered a chance to talk and to share their own story.
Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics, including: story-telling, education, colonization, archeology, the history of treaties and other topics. This video recording is one of several tapes digitized to preserve oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #2, Language, Culture and Education
Revised Tape ID: VC11
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-NEFF,STELLA-[et.al]-IUNNNEE-200210XX-20211210-B.MP4
Contributor: Fitznor, Laara; Neff, Stella
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 10
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Education, culture, language, lineage, heritage, women's rights, Indigenous, Wabowden, Grand Rapids
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, Aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #4, Aboriginal Perspectives on Curriculum
Revised Tape ID: VC13
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-DUMAS,MARGARET-[et.al]-IUNNNEE-200210XX-20211210-D.MP4
Contributor: Dumas, Margaret; Fitznor, Laara; Young, Doris
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 10
Language: English, Cree
Subject: Cree, Indigenous, education curriculum, Aboriginal perspectives, traditional knowledge, oral tradition, Cree language education, treaty peoples, white privilege, women’s rights, Grand Rapids, Wabowden
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, Aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #5, Understanding the Metis Perspective
Revised Tape ID: VC14
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-SHORE,FRED-IUNNNEE-200210XX-20211213-E.MP4
Contributor: Shore, Dr. Fred
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 13
Language: English
Subject: Education, Indigenous, Metis perspectives, First Nations, racism, mixed-blood, half-breed, Indian Act, treaty peoples, land claims, Cree, non-status, road allowance
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, Aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #6, Writing
Revised Tape ID: VC15
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-ROSS,IAN-IUNNNEE-200210XX-20211213-F.MP4
Contributor: Ross, Ian
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 13
Language: English
Subject: Writing, education, Cree perspectives, oral history, oral traditions, Indigenous
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, Aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and storytelling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #7,
Revised Tape ID: VC16
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-BIRD,KATHY-IUNNNEE-200210XX-20211213-G.MP4
Contributor: Bird, Kathy
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 13
Language: English
Subject: Cree, Indigenous, nature, education, edible plants found in nature, plants as medicine, oral history, northern Manitoba
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and storytelling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)

Item Description
Title: Inter Universities North, Nature of the North: Elements of Education. Tape #8, Dr. Laara Fitznor discusses her dissertation
Keynote Speakers: Fitznor, Laara
Revised Tape ID: VC17
FINAL RECORDING ID: ETK-FITZNOR,LAARA-IUNNNEE-20021017-20211214-H.MP4
Date Recorded: 2002, October 16 & 17
Place Recorded: Thompson, Manitoba
Original Format: VHS Cassette
Current Format: MP4
Date Digitized: 2021, December 14
Language: English
Subject: Cree, Indigenous, education, women, university degree, thesis, family, oral history, oral traditions, Wabowden, northern Manitoba,
Description: Inter Universities North (IUN) hosted this conference to discuss relevant Indigenous topics relating to education, including: the impact of education on the environment, how education can affect one’s culture and language, Aboriginal perspectives on the curriculum, oral history and story-telling.
Partners: Treaty and Aboriginal Rights Research Center of Manitoba INC (TARR), Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC) Library and Archives Canada, University College of the North (UCN), Inter Universities North (IUN)