Skip to main content
site header image

Citation Management Software: Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Styles

  1. Zotero has developed two annotated styles for bibliographic formats, APA and Chicago.
  2. The annotated styles are not included in the program and will need to be installed from the Zotero Style Repository at: https://www.zotero.org/styles.
  3. Other annotated styles are available at: http://guides.emich.edu/c.php?g=188045&p=1241422   Please note that these styles have different install directions
  4. The annotated styles do not work with MS Word plug-in. The bibliography needs to be created inside Zotero and exported as a rtf file or copied and pasted into your Word document.

Installing Annotated Styles

Installing Annotated Styles

  1. Go to the Zotero  Styles Depository at: https://www.zotero.org/styles
  2. Type ‘annotated’ in the search box.
  3. Click on the Annotated style you prefer.
  4. The file will download in the lower left corner of your screen.
  5. Click on the Up arrow. Select Open.
  6. Press Install.

Annotated Bibliography APA Style

  1. Enter your annotation in the "Abstracts" field.
  2. Select the citations in your library, right click, and "Create Bibliography"
  3. Select the APA annotated style
  4. Select ‘RTF’ output mode. Save your annotated bibliography as a separate file. Or
  5. Select ‘Copy to Clipboard’ and paste your bibliography into your word processing program.

Annotations Chicago style

  1. Enter your annotation in the ‘Extra’ field.
  2. Select the items for your bibliography in the center pane, right-click and ‘Create Bibliography.’
  3. Select the  Chicago annotated style.
  4. Select ‘RTF’ output mode. Save your annotated bibliography as a separate file, or
  5. Select ‘Copy to Clipboard’ and paste your bibliography into your word processing program.